About Us

The Lincoln Heritage Council is one of the oldest  local Councils serving both urban and rural areas in the United States. Their first charter was granted under the name "Louisville Area Council" in 1912. Later they applied for and received permission to change the name of the Council to "Old Kentucky Home Council", which remained the name until 1992. In 1992, the George Rogers Clark Area Councilbased out of New Albany, Indiana, chose to join efforts with their neighbor, the Old Kentucky Home Council . The councils merged, and on January 1, 1993, the Lincoln Heritage Council officially came to be.

On April 1, 2012 the Lincoln Heritage Council welcomed 39 counties in western Kentucky, Illinois and Tennessee formally served by the Shawnee Trails Council.  The territory became the Western Service Area in the Lincoln Heritage Council.

The Council has thirteen geographical districts and four service areas.The Lincoln Heritage Council #205 is composed of 64 counties in Kentucky, Illinois, Indiana and Tennessee.

Adair, Allen, Ballard, Barren, Breckinridge, Bullitt, Butler, Caldwell, Calloway, Carlisle, Carroll, Christian, Crittenden, Cumberland, Daviess, Edmonson, Fulton, Graves, Grayson, Green, Hancock, Hardin, Hart, Henderson,Henry, Hickman, Hopkins, Jefferson, Larue, Livingston, Logan, Lyon, Marion,Marshall, McCracken, McLean, Meade, Metcalfe, Monroe, Muhlenberg, Nelson, Ohio, Oldham, Shelby, Simpson, Spencer, Taylor, Todd, Trigg, Trimble, Union, Warren, Webster and Washington.

Clark, Crawford, Floyd, Harrison, Scott and Washington

Hardin, Massac, and Pope

South Fulton Community

The Districts of the Lincoln Heritage Council are:

  • Audubon District (Daviess, Hancock, Henderson, McLean and Ohio counties in Kentucky)
  • Bernheim District (West Jefferson counties)
  • Cherokee District (Southeast Jefferson County)
  • Chief Old Ox District (Clark, Scott, and Washington counties in Indiana)
  • Dan Boone District (Trimble, Henry, Oldham, Shelby, and Carroll counties)
  • George Rogers Clark District (Harrison, Crawford, and Floyd counties in Indiana)
  • Four Rivers District (Hardin, Massac and Pope counties in Illinois; Ballard, Carlisle, Fulton, Graves, Hickman and McCracken counties in Kentucky and the South Fulton community in Tennessee)
  • Lincoln Trail District (Hardin, Grayson, Breckinridge, Meade, and LaRue counties)
  • Wapiti District (Allen, Barren, Butler Cumberland, Edmonson Hart, Logan Metcalfe and Monroe, Simpson and Warren  counties in Kentucky)
  • Old Kentucky Home District (Bullitt, Washington, Nelson, Marion, Taylor, Green, Adair, and Spencer counties)
  • Seneca District (Northeast Jefferson County)
  • Tecumseh District (Caldwell, Christian, Crittenden, Hopkins, Muhlenberg, Todd, Union and Webster counties in Kentucky)
District Map Below:

There are two non geographical districts: Metro Exploring for all Explorer Posts located in Metro Louisville, and Scouting Unlimited which serves special need students in public schools.

The Lincoln Heritage Council operates four camping facilities: Pfeffer Scout Reservation (Camp Roy C. Manchester) in Benton, KY, the Badgett Scott Reservation (Wildcat Hollow) near Russellville, KY, the Harry S. Frazier, Jr. Scout Reservation (Camp Crooked Creek) near Clermont, KY, and Tunnel Mill Scout Reservation near Charlestown, IN.

You can learn more about our council by reviewing our Strategic Plan. 

If you are looking for contact information, office hours or a map to our office, please visit the
Sam Swope Scout Center section of this site.